Sign In Forgot Password

Read, Learn, Enjoy

11/12/2020 10:31:58 AM

Nov12

Aileen Grossberg, Librarian

REMINDER: the library is open for borrowing.  There are many new books available as well as great older books for readers of all ages including teens.  However, if you are reluctant about coming into the library, let me know what you want and I will leave it for you in the office. The catalog is very easy to use. There is a link on the library’s home page. Questions or requests: email the librarian at library@Ohebshalom.org

Brand new books (on the shelf on November 18)  include

Jews vs Aliens; Jews vs Zombies. These collections of short stories ask the question on every reader’s mind: what happens when aliens or zombies connect with Jews. 

Eve Henna House: a novel tells the tale of Adela from her childhood to old age as she grows up in the kingdom of Yemen where for hundreds of years, Jews lived, somewhat precariously. Love, intrigue, tragedy, stolen children, the magic of henna and lots of local color will draw the reader in to this coming of age novel.

Fukuda This Light Between Us: a novel of World War II. In 1935, Alex, a Japanese-American from Washington, and Charlie, a Parisian , become pen pals despite Alex’s disappointment when he discovers that Charlie is a girl. Their correspondence continues as they grow up  and World War II disrupts their lives. Alex and his family are interned at Manzamar and Charlie runs for her life in a France controlled by the Nazis. Inspired by the fact that Anne Frank had an American pen pal and that a subcamp of Dachau was liberated by a Japanese-American battalion, the story brings together two stories of escape and  courage from the annals of World War II.  Suitable for young adult and adult readers. 

Harmel The Book of Lost Names is a history mystery based on a true story from World War II. Librarian Eva Abrams spies the photo of a familiar looking book, lost for decades. Her journey to find it takes the reader back to the war when thousands of precious books were looted from Jewish libraries. For readers of The Lost Girls of Paris and The Alice Network. 

Kaufman The Last Kings of Shanghai: the rival Jewish dynasties that helped to create modern China. This story of the Sassoon and Kadoorie families is a tale of wealth, intrigue, transformation and defeat. History buffs and those who enjoy reading about the lifestyles of the rich and famous will enjoy this book.

Shulevitz Chance: escape from the Holocaust : memories of a refugee childhood. The award winning author/ illustrator departs from his usual picture book format in this heavily illustrated biography. Though appropriate for middle school readers, adults will enjoy it, too. Shulevitz and his family sought a precarious safety in Russia for eight years. During this time young Uri developed his love of art and a resilient spirit.

Things to do

November 13 @ 12 p.m. Sigd and the Traditions of Ethiopian Jews. Register at  MyJewishlearning.org

November 15 @ 7 p.m. Klezmer concert at the Museum of Jewish Heritage with music by the band Golem. Register at mjhnyc.org

November 24 @ 2:30. Enjoy a program called Niggun & Nourishment: Gratitude featuring several rabbis from the Rabbinical Assembly in a program of sounds and words. Put niggun in the search box at www.rabbinicalassembly.org.

To access a wide range of religious, educational, cultural, and entertaining programs visit myJewishlearning.org 

Posen Library of Jewish Culture and Civilization: “where the sacred and secular sit side by side” is a collection of curated images, excerpts, and sounds. When complete, these primary sources will reflect Jewish culture and experience from biblical times to the 21st century. Materials have been gathered into printed volumes published by Yale University. Digital access is available for free on the Posen Library home page. PosenLibrary.com

Tue, December 1 2020 15 Kislev 5781